About Us

(above: All 5 of EMPros Original founders; formerly West Volusia Emergency Physicians)

EMPros Original Partners, (L-R) Dr.William Sawko, Dr.Paul Marton, Dr.Chuck Duva, Dr. Steven Knght & Dr. Owen Hunt.

Our Leadership

Dr. Charles Duva is a seasoned physician business leader in the emergency medicine space. In addition to completing a Family Medicine Residency from Halifax Hospital before EM residency programs were created, Dr. Duva earned a degree in Medical Management and has served as CEO of EMPros for over 25 years. His background includes ownership of a local hospital where he was instrumental in turning the facility around into a profitable venture. Dr. Duva, along with a colleague at EMPros, Dr. Bill Sawko started an emergency medicine coding & billing company in 1998 that grew to serve EM clients in 15 states, before merging with two other companies. He lent his expertise and business acumen while serving on the American College of Emergency Physicians Reimbursement Committee for over 20 years.


Dr.Duva also acts as Managing Partner for PrimeCare Urgent Care Centers and has developed an office park and a beachside entertainment venue. In addition to having served as President of Team Volusia, Dr. Duva serves as a member of the Board of Trustees for Embry Riddle Aeronautical University in Daytona Beach.

Our Facilities

EMPros holds contracts (see location page) to manage AdventHealth Emergency Departments in:


      • Daytona Beach
      • Palm Coast
      • New Smyrna Beach
      • DeLand
      • Orange City
      • Deltona
      • Port Orange
      • Daytona International Speedway

Our Mission

To join with our hospital partners in ensuring a reputation for the highest quality emergency care and service to patients.

Physician Benefits

      • Full Benefit Package at 130 Hours a Month
      • Flexible Scheduling
      • Shareholder Opportunity for Mainside EM Physicians *
      • Stable & Fully Transparent Democratic Group, in Business for over 45 years
      • Health, Life, 401K, Disability, Dental & Vision Family Plans
      • Health Plan Deductible Funded into HSA
      • Annual Company Contribution to 401k Plans
      • Pre-tax CME account
      • RVU Production Bonus Opportunity 
      • Membership in Trade Organizations such as ACEP & FCEP
      • Med Mal & Tail
      • Quality Lifestyle
      • Regular Social Events and Journal Club Meetings


* subject to employment contract

Meet EMPros Key Personnel

President and Chief Executive Officer

Director of Practice Operations

Legal Inquiries


Physician Liaison




Credentialing Coordinator